Everybody knows…

Everybody knows how to raise children, except the people who have them.

So true. I have run into this issue many times. My youth makes me susceptible to people who think I haven’t a clue as to how to raise children. This is far from the truth. I have taken care of children since I was a kid. You are never an expert, but I am far from a newbie. I at least know that there are certain rules I will enforce, such as making the kids eat their veggies before dessert or playtime. You may disagree, but I am a parent to my three children, and during a time in which 1/7 of kids are starving, I refuse to let them waste food. I have never force-fed them or anything of the sort, but I do let them know that they need to finish their dinner. I also do not allow them to have caffeine, soft drinks, high fructose corn syrup, or large amounts of sugar. People say that I am mean and not fun, but that is not my job; I am their mother, not friend. I discipline them as I see fit, and I make them do things they may not like but are good for them. They have to put away their toys when they don’t want to, as well as nap when they are scheduled to. Yes, they are children, no, they should not grow up too quickly; however, they will learn personal responsibility. Parents are not perfect. I will always do my best for my kids. I will never do what I see as harmful. I will love, protect, and provide for them to the best of my ability. I pray for them daily. I spend more on them than I ever did on myself. I sacrifice for my babies, and nobody can say otherwise. I love my children with all of my heart.

Leave a Reply

